top of page


  1. Z. Li, C. Yao, Y.-C. Wang, S. Mikael, S. Gunasekaran, Z. Ma, Z. Cai and X. Wang, “High-density platinum nanoparticle-deposited titanium dioxide nanofiber networks for efficient capillary photocatalytic hydrogen generation,” Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 4, 11672, (2016).

  2. D.-W. Park, H. Kim, J. Bong, S. Mikael, T. J. Kim, J. C. Williams and Z. Ma, “Flexible bottom-gate graphene transistors on Parylene C substrate and the effect of current annealing”, Applied Physics Letters, 109, 152105 (2016).

  3. G. Qin, H. Liu, Y. Guo, M. Dang, J. Ma, Z. Ma and T. Luo, “On the performance characterization of silicon MOSFETs on 4° off-axis substrate,” IEICE Electronics Express, 13, 20160634 (2016).

  4. G. Qin, H. Liu, Y. Xu, M. Dang, J. Ma, Z. Ma, X. Chen, and T. Luo, "Characterization of flexible radio-frequency spiral inductors on a plastic substrate," IEICE Electronics Express, 13, 20160690 (2016).

  5. S. Mikael, D.-W. Park, J.-H. Seo, S. Gong and Z. Ma, “Triaxial compressive strain in bilayer graphene enabled by nitride stressor layer,” Extreme Mechanics Letters, 11, 77-83 (2016).

  6. X. Huang, Y. Liu, G. W. Kong, J.-H. Seo, Y. Ma, K.-I. Jang, J. A. Fan, S. Mao, Q. Chen, D. Li, H. Liu, C. Wang, D. Patnaik, L. Tian, G. Salvatore, X. Feng, Z. Ma, Y. Huang and J. A. Rogers, “Epidermal radio frequency electronics for wireless power transfer,” Microsystems and Nanoengineering, 2, 1605 (2016).

  7. T.-H. Chang*, S. Xiong*, R. M. Jacobberger*, S. Mikael, H. S. Suh, C.-C. Liu, D. Geng, X. Wang, M. S. Arnold, Z. Ma and P. F. Nealey, “Directed self-assembly of block copolymer films on atomically-thin graphene chemical patterns”, Scientific Reports, 6, 31407 (2016).

  8. M. Kim, J.-H. Seo, Z. Yu, W. Zhou, and Z. Ma, “Flexible germanium nanomembrane metal-semiconductor-metal photodiodes,” Applied Physics Letters, 109, 051105 (2016). Editor’s Pick.

  9. D.-W. Park, S. K. Brodnick, J. P. Ness, F. Atry, L. Krugner-Higby, A. Sandberg, S. Mikael, T. J. Richner, J. Novello, H. Kim, D.-H. Baek, J. Bong, S. T. Frye, S. Thongpang, K. I. Swanson, W. Lake, R. Pashaie, J. C. Williams and Z. Ma, “Fabrication and utility of a transparent graphene neural electrode array for electrophysiology, in vivo imaging, and optogenetics,” Nature Protocols, 11, 2201 - 2222 (2016). doi:10.1038/nprot.2016.127.

  10. M. Kim, S. C. Liu, J. Lee, T. Kim, J.-H. Seo, W. Zhou and Z. Ma, “Light absorption enhancement in Ge nanomembranes and its optoelectronic application,” Optics Express, 24(15): 16894-16903 (2016).

  11. T.-H. Chang, W Fan, S. Liu, D. Liu, Z. Xia, L. Menon, H. Yang, J. Berggren, M. Hammar and Z. Ma, “Selective release of InP heterostructures from InP substrates,” Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology B 34, 041229 (2016).

  12. D. Liu, W. Zhou and Z. Ma, “Semiconductor nanomembrane-based light-emitting and photodetecting devices” (Invited Review), Photonics 3(2), 40 (2016).

  13. M. Cho, J.-H. Seo, D. Park, W. Zhou and Z. Ma, “Capacitance-voltage characteristics of Si and Ge nanomembrane based flexible metal-oxide-semiconductor devices under bending conditions,” Applied Physics Letters, 108, 233505 (2016).

  14. Q. Zheng, Z. Ma and S. Gong, “Multi-stimuli-responsive self-healing metallo-supramolecular polymer nanocomposites,” Journal of Materials Chemistry C, 4, 3324-3334 (2016).

  15. Q. Zheng, H. Zhang, H. Mi, Z. Cai, Z. Ma and S. Gong, “High-performance flexible piezoelectric nanogenerators consisting of porous cellulose nanofibril (CNF)/poly (dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS) aerogel films,” Nano Energy, 26, 504-512, (2016).

  16. F. Wang, J.-H. Seo, G. Luo, M. B. Starr, Z. Li, D. Geng, S. Wang, D. Morgan, Z. Ma and X. D. Wang, “Nanometer-thick single-crystalline nanosheets grown at the water-air interface”, Nature Communications, 7, 10444 (2016).         

  17. D. Zhao, S. Liu, H. Yang, Z. Ma, C. Reuterskiöld-Hedlund, M. Hammar and W. Zhou, “Printed large-area single-mode photonic crystal bandedge surface-emitting lasers on silicon,” Scientific Reports, 6, 18860 (2016).

  18. G. Gui, K. Zhang, J. P. Blanchard and Z. Ma, “Prediction of 4H-SiC betavoltaic microbattery characteristics based on practical Ni-63 sources,” Applied  Radiation and Isotopes, 107, 272–277 (2016).

  19. J.-H. Seo, T. Ling, W. Zhou, S. Gong, A. Ma, L. J. Guo and Z. Ma, “Fast flexible thin-film transistors with a nanotrench structure”, Scientific Reports, 6, 24771 (2016).  

  20. S. Mikael*, J.-H. Seo*, A. Javadi, S. Gong and Z. Ma, “Wrinkled bilayer graphene with wafer scale mechanical strain”, Applied Physics Letters, 108, 183101 (2016).                                       

  21. Y. H. Jung, J. Lee, Y. Qiu, N. Cho, S. J. Cho, H. Zhang, S. Lee, T. J. Kim, S. Gong and Z. Ma, “Stretchable twisted-pair transmission lines for microwave frequency wearable electronics,” Advanced Functional Materials, 26, 4636-4642 (2016). (Inside Front Cover, significant press coverage)

  22. H. Mi, C. H. Liu, T.-H. Chang, J.-H. Seo, H. Zhang, S. J. Cho, N. Behdad, Z. Ma, C. Yao, Z. Cai and S. Gong, “Characterizations of biodegradable epoxy-coated cellulose nanofibrils (CNF) thin film for flexible microwave applications,” Cellulose 23(3): 1989-95 (2016).

  23. H. Mi*, J.-H. Seo*, C.-J. Ku*, J. Shi, X. Wang, Y. Lu and Z. Ma, "Microwave TFTs made of MOCVD ZnO with ALD Al2O3 Gate Dielectric," IEEE Journal of the Electron Devices Society, 4 (2), 55-9 (2016).

  24. K. Zhang, G. Gui, P. Pathak, J.-H. Seo, J. P. Blanchard and Z. Ma, "Quantitative modeling of betavoltaic microbattery performance," Sensors and Actuators: A Physical, 240, 131-137 (2016).

  25. L. Menon, H. Yang, S. J. Cho, S. Mikael, Z. Ma and W. Zhou, "Heterogeneously integrated InGaAs and Si membrane four color photodetector arrays," IEEE Photonics Journal, 8(2), 6801907 (2016).

  26. J.-H. Seo, K. Zhang, M. Kim, D. Zhao, H. Yang, W. Zhou and Z. Ma, “Flexible phototransistors based on single-crystalline silicon nanomembranes,” Advanced Optical Materials, 4(1), 120–125 (2016). (Journal Cover) (The fastest flexible phototransistor, with the least materials used for making it. Significant press/media coverage.)

  27. J.-H. Seo, H. Wu, S. Mikael, H. Mi, G. Venkataramanan, J. P. Blanchard, S. Gong, W. Zhou, D. Morgan and Z. Ma, “Thermal diffusion boron doping of single-crystal natural diamond,” Journal of Applied Physics, 119, 205703 (2016). (News Coverage)

  28. J.-H. Seo, H. Wu, S. Mikael, H. Mi, J. P. Blanchard, G. Venkataramanan, W. Zhou, S. Gong, D. Morgan and Z. Ma, “Thermal diffusion boron doping of single-crystal diamond,” arXiv:1603.01307. (2016).

  29. Y. Wang, H. Mi, Q. Zheng, H. Zhang, Z. Ma and S. Gong, “Highly stretchable and sensitive piezoresistive carbon nanotube/elastic triisocyanate-crosslinked polytetrahydrofuran nanocomposites,” Journal of Materials Chemistry C, 4, 460-467 (2016).

  30. Y. Qiu, Y. H. Jung, S. Lee, J. Lee, T. Y. Shih, Y. Xu, R. Xu, W. Lin, J. C. Williams, N. Behdad and Z. Ma, “Flexible capacitively loaded antenna with parylene conformal coating,” Microwave Journal, 59 (4), 134-142 (2016).

  31. M. Cho, J.-H. Seo, M. Kim, J. Lee, W. Zhou, Z. Yu and Z. Ma, "Resonant cavity (RC) germanium photodetector via stacked single-crystalline nanomembranes", Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology B, 34, 040604 (2016).

  32. M. Cho*, J.-H. Seo *, D. Zhao, J. Lee, W. Zhou and Z. Ma, “Amorphous Si/SiO2 distributed Bragg reflectors with transfer printed single-crystalline Si nanomembranes,” Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology B, 34, 040601 (2016). Editor’s Pick.

  33. Y. H. Jung, Y. Qiu, S. Lee, T.-Y. Shih, Y. Xu, R. Xu, J. Lee, A. A. Schendel, W. Lin, J. C. Williams, N. Behdad and Z. Ma, “A compact parylene-coated WLAN flexible antenna for implantable electronics,” IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, 15, 1382-1385, (2016).

bottom of page